Tiger Sonora's Blog

Desperate, but not a housewife…

Fox news is killing my dad… October 30, 2009

Filed under: It's just life... — Tiger Sonora @ 11:16 pm
Tags: , , , ,

“I think your father is so disappointed in the way the country is going and the socialization after what he fought for, he’s ready to die.”   

This is what my mother told me yesterday after learning that Dad has about a year to live. Mom can’t stop weeping.  My first reaction was to bite my tongue (there is no sanity in discussing politics with my mother), but I wanted to say – Stop watching Fox News and quit listening to Rush Limbaugh! I did manage to meekly say – you know I don’t feel that way…

My siblings and I talk about hope for our country – repairing health care, surviving the financial crisis, becoming on good terms with the world. However, somewhere along the lines my parents became consumed with fear and doom and gloom, and there is a sector of the media that feeds that on a daily basis in big scoops dripping with negatively and hate.

We actually also had good news yesterday.  Dad’s advancing cancer will not prevent us from making the nearly annual family trek to Pearl Harbor this year for the anniversary of the infamous battle.  Eventually my parents’ ashes will be scattered there and Dad will be able to join his brethren that he was not able to pull out of the harbor that fateful day. He wants the kids to meet with the man who will make this all happen.  It’s kind of like a drill, so we know what to do when we fly back to scatter their remains in the Pacific in accord with their wishes.

My tall, strong, smart, handsome father who was really just a boy at Pearl Harbor, went on to become literally a rocket scientist…he was a pilot, a builder, a community servant.  Now he is shrinking while the cancer grows and his once seemingly larger than life existence is focused on one day at Pearl Harbor and his perceived sorry state of the country.

Wikipedia states:Many observers say that Fox News Channel’s programming promotes conservative political positions. Fox News Channel denies any bias in the channel’s news reporting, and says there is a distinction between its news coverage and editorial programming.

Really? Really?Ttake a look at the headlines at Fox News.  There’s no support for the country or the leadership.  There’s no attempt to find middle ground and work with all points of view to make things better.  There’s no call on Fox News for us to work together to pick up a mop and pitch in…Stop Fox News…Espousing hate helps no one. This isn’t just conservative — it’s alarmist and hateful.  Stop! You are killing my Dad.

 

Leave a comment